About Powys County Council

Powys County Council - Building a Better County

Powys County Council is a Welsh Unitary Authority with 73 elected Councillors. It is relatively young, having been first created as a County Council in 1974, and then merged with its constituent district councils to become a Unitary Authority in 1996. However, its roots are deep, with the three constituent shires - Brecknockshire, Montgomeryshire and Radnorshire - stretching back centuries.

As a Unitary Authority the Council is responsible for all local government services in the county, including education, social care services, roads and bridges, leisure services, tourism and planning.

The Council employs around 8,000 staff working in many locations across the county in a wide variety of roles from refuse collector to social worker, from teacher to highway engineer.

The Council has a huge impact on the local economy, both by being its largest employer and by spending more than half of its £300 million turnover within the county's boundaries. 

Chairman of Council and Leader

Chairman of Council

The Chairman of Council is an annual non political appointment, made at the Council’s Annual General Meeting in May.  Appointments are made on a rotational basis by nomination from the three Shires.

The Chairman chairs County Council meetings.  In addition the Chairman also represents the Council in a non political capacity in a range of civic and ceremonial duties.  The Chairman attends such functions in an ambassadorial capacity representing the Council and the people of Powys. 

The Chairman will represent the Council at events to welcome representatives of other bodies to the Council.  The Chairman also represents the Council at public engagements, other authorities’ civic functions, community functions and ceremonies.

The Leader

The Leader is the political Leader of the Council as well as being the Leader of the Executive [Cabinet].  The Leader is appointed by Council after County Council elections. 

It is the Leader’s function to represent the political views of the Council and the Executive.  He/she represents the specific political programme of the Council and Executive. 

Councillors, minutes of meetings etc

Information about Councillors, archived minutes of meetings, committee structures and other related information is currently available via the Democratic Services website. We are working to bring this information into our new website system, but in the meantime, click on the links below to find the information you need:

About Democratic Services

The Democratic Services department provides secretarial and administrative support to all members of the Council as well as providing or overseeing:

  • details of meetings of the Council and its committees;
  • records (minutes) of the meetings of the Council and its committees.

Service Contact

There are contact details available in a number of locations for this Service. Please select your nearest town:

Democratic Services

Telephone: 0845 602 7030

Democratic Services
Powys County Hall
Powys County Hall
Spa Road East
Llandrindod Wells