Bank holiday service disruptions

Christmas and New Year Recycling & Waste Collections

As the festive season arrives, Powys County Council is trying to get people to continue to reduce, reuse and recycle their household waste as much as possible during the festive period.

There will be some changes to the recycling and rubbish collection dates during the festive period as follows:

Usual collection date Revised collection date
Monday 23rd December 2013 As normal – no change
Tuesday 24th December 2013 As normal – no change
Wednesday 25th December 2013 Friday 27th December 2013
Thursday 26th December 2013 Saturday 28th December 2013
Friday 27th December 2013 Sunday 29th December 2013
Monday 30th December 2013 As normal – no change
Tuesday 31st December 2013 As normal – no change
Wednesday 1st January 2014 Thursday 2nd January 2014
Thursday 2nd January 2014 Friday 3rd January 2014
Friday 3rd January 2014 Saturday 4th January 2014

Week beginning Monday 6th January 2014 - All recycling and rubbish kerbside collections will return to the normal day.

In areas where kerbside recycling collections have been introduced and wheeled bins are emptied (or purple sacks are collected) every two weeks your week will not change. 

You can find out how to recycle more at home this Christmas by visiting http://www.powys.gov.uk/?id=2120  and www.wasteawarenesswales.org.uk