Level A Training

Level A materials take a general approach, providing summaries and overviews of the key messages of particular parts of the Act, making them suitable for all roles across the social care, health and third sectors.

Module 1

Introduction and General Functions – This module gives an overview of the Act, as well as Parts 1 and 2. Among the topics covered by the module are preventative services, information, advice and assistance, and the requirement for local authorities and local health boards to work together to undertake a population assessment. It also outlines well-being (which is central to the Act), other overarching duties of the Act and the duty on local authorities to promote social enterprises, co-operatives, third sector and user-led services.

Module 3

Looked After and Accommodated Children – This module looks at Part 6, and relevant sections of Part 11, of the Act. It examines the changes relating to looked after and accommodated children, including care leavers, and the requirement for care providers to promote the well-being, rights and voice of the child.

Module 2

Assessing and Meeting Individual Needs – This module relates to Parts 3 and 4 (as well as relevant aspects of Parts 5 and 11) of the Act, which require local authorities to make significant changes to current assessment and eligibility practice, placing emphasis on providing services that matter to the individual and achieving personal outcomes. 

Module 4

Safeguarding – This module covers Part 7 of the Act, safeguarding. The Act makes clear that safeguarding is everyone’s business and there is a requirement for practitioners in all agencies to recognise and act when they identify children and adults at risk.

There are currently no dates available, please contact the training unit to express an interest in this course, or you can use our express an interest form. You are also able to complete this training via the e.learning module.