National Assembly for Wales Election Results

The new democratic institution of the National Assembly for Wales held its last elections in May 2016. Each parliamentary constituency returns one Assembly Member under the ‘first past the post’ system. The forty members so elected are joined by a further twenty members elected under a system of proportional representation which is a variation of the ‘d’Hondt System’ in which Wales is divided into five regions, each returning four members. The Montgomeryshire and Brecon and Radnorshire parliamentary constituencies fall within the Mid and West Wales region, while the Clwyd South parliamentary constituency falls within the North Wales region and the Neath parliamentary constituency in the South Wales West region for the election of these regional members. The next ordinary elections for the Assembly are to be held on Thursday 6th May 2021.