Local Boards of Health

Local boards of health were established following the Public Health Act of 1848 and the Local Government Act of 1858, in populous areas not covered by a town vestry or council, or by improvement commissioners. They were responsible for most aspects of public health, including street cleaning, sewerage and highways.


The links below lead to PDF documents.


Builth (Ref: B/LB/BU)

Hay (Ref: B/LB/HA)


See Montgomeryshire Quarter Sessions (M/QS) for Forden Rural Sanitary Authority; Machynlleth Rural Sanitary Authority; Newtown and Llanidloes Rural Sanitary Authority


Knighton     R/LB/A

Additional Information

Under the Public Health Act of 1872 the local boards were incorporated into urban sanitary authorities, together with boroughs and improvement commissions, while rural sanitary authorities covered the rest. (In 1894 they became urban and rural district councils, q.v.)

*See also Brecknock Borough (B/BR) for Brecknock Local Board of Health and Brecknock Urban Sanitary Authority.

*See Brecknock Poor Law Union (B/G/BR) and Brecknock Rural District (B/RD/BR) for Brecknock Rural Sanitary Authority

*See Builth Poor Law Union (B/G/BU) for Builth Local Board of Health and Builth Rural Sanitary Authority

*See Crickhowell Poor Law Union (B/G/CR) for Crickhowell Rural Sanitary Authority (B/G/CR/994)

*See Welshpool Borough (M/B/WE) for Welshpool Board of Health

*See also Knighton Local Board of Health (R/UD/KN/Q); Rhayader Rural Sanitary Authority (R/G/C)